Sida summer planting in Greece: Stress test – 1 very tight summer week

Sidapflanze, Sida east, Sida hermaphrodita

 

We conducted another, a bit unwanted stress test this week, packing sida plants. Due to unfortunate circumstances, we could not export sida to Greece as planned, and it was collected the whole working week at summer temperatures, densely packed in a box. You could see the quite astonishing result below:

 

Sida plants well packed for the long journey

Sida plants well packed for the long journey

The first sida plant survived in a week

The first sida plant survived in a week

Sida east: Still a bit dishevelled, but alive!

Sida east: Still a bit dishevelled, but alive!

Sida is recovered again in 1 week!

Sida is recovered again in 1 week!

They were indeed “adrift” but alive and well in overall! A couple of days in the sun – and they feel well again :-) . By the way, we have noticed many times that sida is very tough and highly resistant. Last year, for example, we transported Sida hermaphrodita in pots, the plants being 10-20 cm long already, stacked in blocks. 6-7 layers one above the other…! The result: Like during our involuntary packaging stress test, they looked in different directions first, some shoots also broke off, but within a few days all were tight again, fresh and lively. I was hardly to find such a toughness in any other plants in my gardening practice.

Summer planting

And, since we’re discussing that: Some of you may ask whether it is reasonable to plant sida now, in the heart of summer… YES can only be my answer. Actually, the main planting season of this mallow species is also April and May; however, planting in summer or late summer has even some advantages over planting in spring:

lower weed pressure

higher temperature, therefore faster growing

grows strongly the next season

And, if you are still planning to plant sida this year, please don’t hesitate to contact us. We are still having a couple of thousands of sida plants in stock! :-)   Here you can directly buy sida plants online or contact us via e-mail at info@energiepflanzen.com if you need more information.

I wish you a nice summer and much joy with your sida plants,
Reinhard Sperr

Update of Sept. 30, 2014 for the article i summer:

Our Greek customer was so nice as to send us a couple of sida pictures. After the initial weakness due to a really long journey, densely packed, the tough plants set up again, and they have grown well by now. With appropriate watering (inevitable in Greece), I expect the plants to become 1-1.5 meters high in the coming year already!
Good luck and also, in this way, greetings to Greece!

 

Sida plant in Mediterranean areas

Sida plant in Mediterranean areas

Energy plant sida in Greece

Energy plant sida in Greece


2 Responses to Sida summer planting in Greece: Stress test – 1 very tight summer week

  1. hiesinger josef says:

    gefällt mir.

    • Reinhard Sperr says:

      vielen Dank!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Sidapflanzen Sommerpflanzung Griechenland: Stresstest – 1 Sommerwoche dicht verpackt

Sidapflanze, Sida east, Sida hermaphrodita

Einen etwas ungewollten Stresstest führten wir diese Woche mit einer Packung Sida-Pflanzen durch. Wegen unglücklicher Umstände konnte der geplante Sida-Export nach Griechenland nicht durchgeführt werden, so harrten sie eine ganze Arbeitswoche bei sommerlichen Temperaturen dicht verpackt in einem Karton aus. Das durchaus erstaunliche Ergebnis könnt ihr nachfolgend betrachten:

 

 

Sidapflanzen - gut verpackt für die lange Reise, piante di sida imballate per lunghi viaggi, de Sida bine ambalate pentru lunga călătorie

Sidapflanzen - gut verpackt für die lange Reise

Erste Überlebende Sidapflanzen nach einer Woche, le prime piante di sida sopravvissute dopo una settimana, Primele plante supraviețuitore de Sida după o săptămână

Erste Überlebende Sidapflanzen nach einer Woche

Sida east: noch etwas zerrauft, aber am Leben! Sida east: un po' scomposte, ma ancora vive!, Sida east: încă cam ofilită dar în viață!

Sida east: noch etwas zerrauft, aber am Leben!

Sida nach 1 Woche schon wieder erholt! Sida dopo 1 settimana, già in ripresa!, Sida după 1 săptămână deja și-a revenit!

Sida nach 1 Woche schon wieder erholt!

Sie waren zwar “etwas durch den Wind”, aber insgesamt gesund und munter! Ein paar Tage an der Sonne und es geht ihnen wieder gut :-) . Dass Sidapflanzen sehr zäh und widerstandsfähig sind haben wir übrigens schon öfters festgestellt. Im Vorjahr etwa transportierten wir getopfte Sida hermaphrodita, die schon 10-20 cm ausgetrieben hatten, gestapelt in Platten. 6, 7 Lagen übereinander…! Das Ergebnis: ähnlich wie bei unserem unfreiwilligen Verpackungs-Stresstest schauten sie erst in verschiedene Richtungen, einzelne Triebe brachen auch ab, aber innerhalb weniger Tage standen wieder alle stramm und waren frisch und munter. So eine Zähheit hab ich in meiner gärtnerischen Praxis kaum bei einer anderen Pflanze feststellen können.

Sommerpflanzung

Und weil wir grad dabei sind: einige von euch mögen sich grad fragen, ob das denn sinnvoll ist, jetzt, mitten im Sommer Sidapflanzen anzubauen… JA kann ich nur darauf antworten. Die Hauptpflanzzeit dieser Malven-Art ist zwar auch April und Mai, die Sommer/Spätsommerpflanzung hat gegenüber der Frühjahrspflanzung sogar einige Vorteile:

geringerer Unkrautdruck

höhere Temperatur, deshalb schnelleres Aufwachsen

geht kräftig angewachsen in die nächste Saison

Also wer von euch noch eine Sidapflanzung heuer plant, der kann sich gerne melden. Ein paar Tausend Sidaplanzen haben wir noch vorrätig! :-)  Hier könnt ihr direkt Sidapflanzen online kaufen oder ihr meldet euch per Email unter info@energiepflanzen.com, wenn ihr noch weitere Infos braucht.

Einen schönen Sommer und noch viel Freude mit euren Sidapflanzen wünscht euch

Reinhard Sperr

30.09.2014 Aktualisierung zum Artikel im Sommer:

Unser griechischer Kunde war so nett und hat uns ein paar Bilder von den Sidapflanzen zukommen lassen. Nach anfänglicher Schwäche wegen der wirklich langen Reise dicht verpackt haben sich die zähen Pflanzen aufgestellt und sind mittlerweile gut angewachsen. Bei entsprechender Bewässerung (in Griechenland natürlich unumgänglich) rechne ich damit, dass die Pflanzen im kommenden Jahr schon 1-1,5 Meter hoch sein werden! Viel Erfolg weiterhin und auch auf diesem Wege schöne Grüße nach Griechenland!

 

Sidapflanze in mediteranen Gebieten

Sida Energiepflanze Griechenland


2 Responses to Sidapflanzen Sommerpflanzung Griechenland: Stresstest – 1 Sommerwoche dicht verpackt

  1. hiesinger josef says:

    gefällt mir.

    • Reinhard Sperr says:

      vielen Dank!

Hinterlasse eine Antwort

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind markiert *

*

Du kannst folgende HTML-Tags benutzen: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>