Your Cart

Your cart is currently empty

Miscanthus sinensis

The confusion with many names that Miscanthus has in the German language continues partly in botanical names. The energy crop Miscanthus x giganteus is genetically similar to Miscanthus sinensis that generally comprises many ornamental Miscanthus varieties. For example, Miscanthus sinensis “Strictus”, “Malepartus”, “Small Silver Spider”, or “Far East”;

Although the term of “elephant grass” for Miscanthus sinensis is especially widespread in Austria and southern Germany, it is botanically incorrect. Actually, “elephant grass” is the correct name for Pennisetum purpureum that is native to Africa.

To make the confusion even greater, here are some other names for Miscanthus sinensis, which are all in circulation and can only partly be considered as correct: Chinese reed, Chinese grass, giant Chinese grass, giant Chinese reed, and even more, perhaps. “Jumbo grass” is another creation of our house, especially for the use of Miscanthus in garden design.

©energiepflanzen.com - Reinhard Sperr (2008 – 2017)

Ihr Warenkorb

Ihr Warenkorb ist derzeit leer

Miscanthus sinensis

Die Verwirrung bei den vielen Namen, die Miscanthus im Deutschen aufweist, führt sich teils auch bei den botanischen Bezeichnungen fort. Die Energiepflanze Miscanthus x giganteus ist gattungsverwandt mit Miscanthus sinenis, das im Wesentlichen viele Chinaschilf-Ziersorten umfasst. Z.B. Miscanthus sinensis „Strictus“, „Malepartus“, „Kleine Silberspinne“, „Ferner Osten“;

Auch wenn die Bezeichnung „Elefantengras“ auch für Miscanthus sinensis speziell in Österreich und dem süddeutschen Raum sehr weit verbreitet ist, ist sie botanisch nicht korrekt. Elefantengras ist eigentlich die richtige Bezeichnung für Pennisetum purpureum, das in Afrika heimisch ist.

Um die Verwirrung noch größer zu machen hier noch einige weiter Bezeichnungen für Miscanthus sinensis, die alle im Umlauf sind und nur teilweise als korrekt bezeichnet werden können: Chinaschilf, Chinagras(s), Riesenchinagras, Riesenchinaschilf und wahrscheinlich noch mehr. „Jumbogras“ ist noch eine Kreation aus unserem Hause, speziell für die Nutzung von Miscanthus in der Gartengestaltung.

©energiepflanzen.com - Reinhard Sperr (2008 – 2017)